About Mechanics Bank

Mechanics Bank’s History

Strength of character, strong communication skills and stability are the cornerstone traits of both successful individuals and long-standing institutions. In 1892, J.V. Blackmur, the founder and first president of The Mechanics Savings Bank, instilled these principles into Mechanics’ corporate culture-and they remain today.

Mechanics began modestly with paid capital of $8,000, an authorized capitalization of $25,000 and Mr. Blackmur’s commitment to serving the local community. Today, with assets totaling over $100 million, Mechanics remains focused on honoring the local customers who have partnered in the bank’s success for more than 100 years. As the oldest home-owned bank servicing Yalobusha and Lafayette counties, Mechanics continues to provide today’s banking consumers the exceptional service and new technology offerings they require.

It has often been said that true knowledge, and thus success, depends on a thorough understanding of the past. At Mechanics Bank, the past, present, and future have always been and will continue to be neatly intertwined, providing the integrity, people skills and financial stability Mr. Blackmur established and our customers have come to expect.

Community Involvement

Committed to OUR Community

Mechanics Bank has a long history of commitment and involvement in the communities in which we serve. Our officers and employees volunteer their free time with various charity and civic organizations. Mechanics Bank is dedicated to employee volunteerism, financial support for our communities and a strong commitment to education.

Organizations that benefit from our donations of time and money are, Lafayette and Yalobusha County Schools Systems, Diabetes Foundation of Mississippi, American Cancer Society, United Way, Doors of Hope, Leap Frog, The Pantry, Oxford Park Commission, to name a few. Many from our staff volunteer with our local Chambers, Lions Clubs and Rotary Clubs in their efforts for our communities.

Mission

Mechanics Bank’s Mission Statement

Mechanics Bank will provide quality financial products and services to customers who value relationship banking. This mission will: create a friendly and personal environment; produce a platform for exceeding customer expectations; provide a meaningful future for our employees; and maximize return on investment for our stockholders.

Meet Our Staff

Banking Services(Checking, Savings, etc.)

Drogers@mechanicsbankms.com    

Mortgage Loans

Mmason@mechanicsbankms.com    

Internet Banking

Tturner@mechanicsbankms.com Kmathis@mechanicsbankms.com  

Marketing & Advertising

Ttacke@mechanicsbankms.com    

Consumer and Commercial Loans

Ctyler@mechanicsbankms.com thill@mechanicsbankms.com  
Jmcneely@mechanicsbankms.com Creese@mechanicsbankms.com  
Cedwards@mechanicsbankms.com    
Jbynum@mechanicsbankms.com    

 

Officers & Directors

Board of Directors

Water Valley Officers

Oxford Officers

Bill Larson
Chairman
Cam Tyler
President/CEO
Jim McNeely
Vice President/Commercial Loan Officer
Robert T. Rosson, Jr.
Secretary
Jon Gunter
Sr.Vice President/Chief Operating Officer
Michelle Mason
Vice President/Mortgage Loan Officer
Fred H. Eakes
Director
Nell Jobe
Sr. Vice President/Controller
Rebecca Moore
Assistant Cashier/Asst. Operations Mgr.
John Ingram
Director
Keith River
Sr. Vice President/Cashier
Charlie Edwards
Loan Officer
Dr. Lorri C. Williamson
Director
Ted Nerren
Vice President
 
Edwin Aune
Director
Irby Boyd
Assistant Vice President/Collections Officer
 
Cam Tyler
Director
Debbie Rogers
Vice President/Operations
 
  Charlotte Reese
Loan Officer
 
  Tyler Hill
Vice President/Lender
 
  Jeff Bynum
Vice President/Lender